Campus Master Plan Update
Mississippi State University is in the process of updating its campus master plan, and we are excited about your participation in this endeavor.

View the Master Plan Process

2003 - Current
Mississippi State - 2003
  • The current master plan was adopted in 2003

  • Developed by Jackson-based Foil-Wyatt Architects & Planners, PLLC

  • Plan provides guidelines for orderly growth and development of campus

  • Providing a pedestrian-friendly experience is a priority

  • Plan allows flexibility and a vision for the future to influence decisions about road and street development, building site selection, and expansion of the utility and I.T. infrastructure
If you have a question about the current campus master plan, please send it to us.
Colvard Student Union Old Main Plaza The Junction Zacharias Village
Mississippi State - 1995
  • The expansion and renovation of Mitchell Memorial Library started in 1992 nears completion

  • A tiling project closes Humphrey Coliseum’s outer concourse to walkers during the facility’s first facelift since it was built in the 1970s

  • Chadwick Lake is drained for maintenance and improvements to make way for the $19-million Sanderson Center indoor recreation complex

  • Construction of the Bryan Athletic Administration Building is completed

  • More than 20 parking meters are installed along Lee Boulevard to allow open, short-term parking for The University Florist, State Fountain, and other offices

Source: MSU Memo archives, http://www.msstate.edu/web/employees/search.php

Bike Pathway Bryan Building Northern Entrance Road Sanderson Center
Mississippi State - 1970
  • A new athletic dorm, McArthur Hall, is dedicated Oct. 10, 1970, and the old dormitory in Memorial Hall is turned over to Continuing Education

  • The 1970s saw construction of a number of iconic campus buildings, including Allen Hall, McCool Hall, Cobb Institute of Archaeology Building, and Humphrey Coliseum

  • MSU Physical Plant Department develops an energy consumption manual in response to the national energy crisis

  • The decade sees the university purchase the old Buck Creek Cotton Mill, now known as the Cooley Building and home to Facilities Management

  • December 1977, a new four-laned Highway 82 opens between Starkville and Columbus

Primary Source: "People's University: The Centennial History of Mississippi State"

Dudy Noble Field Humphrey Coliseum Humphrey Coliseum
Mississippi State - 1950
  • The campus continued to change through the challenges of the World War II years and the opportunities of the post-war return of thousands of soldiers and sailors and the expansion of higher education

  • The late '40s and 1950s saw the establishment of a unified plant maintenance department serving the entire campus, construction of sidewalks and curbs, and the paving of many streets

  • Campus landscaping was reworked “amid a mighty hewing down of trees, rooting up of ancient shrubbery, and the felling of dilapidated outhouses”

  • A master plan for future campus improvements was drafted

  • On October 24, 1950, six new buildings were dedicated: the new library, the agricultural engineering building, Patterson engineering laboratories, Garner Hall (then a dormitory), the physical education building, and the dairy building (Herzer Hall)

  • The Mississippi State campus changed forever when Old Main dormitory burned Jan. 23, 1959. The massive structure housed 1,500 at one time

Primary Source: "People's University: The Centennial History of Mississippi State"

Aerial View 1946 Aerial View 1948 Aerial View 1949 Aerial View 1952 Aerial View 1953 Old Main Dormitory
Mississippi State - 1934
  • This illustration shows significant campus growth through the 1920s and into the '30s in spite of the financial plight of the state and the Depression years

  • The college received its first accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in 1926

  • After a delay in the mid-'20s, the buildings program was revived in 1927

  • Construction of a system of concrete drives on campus started in 1928

  • The Great Depression dealt a blow to academic life and saw the deterioration of the physical plant and grounds because of the dire financial situation

  • In 1932, the Legislature renamed A&M as Mississippi State College

  • The mid 1930s saw construction and repair work return to campus as federal funds from the New Deal became available

Primary Source: "People's University: The Centennial History of Mississippi State"

Campus 1930s Campus 1930s Aerial View 1938 Aerial View 1930s
Mississippi State - 1918
  • A worldwide influenza pandemic and the end of World War I marked 1918

  • This image illustrates a changing campus footprint as the country raced into the Roaring Twenties

  • Carpenter Hall and the new dormitory (the northeast wing of Old Main) were completed during the war years, along with the iconic Y.M.C.A. building

  • A major improvement to the grounds took place in 1913 with the construction of sidewalks on campus

Primary Source: "People's University: The Centennial History of Mississippi State"

Campus 1920 Biology Building 1920s Drill Field 1920s Panoramic View 1920s
Mississippi State - 1885
  • The Agricultural and Mechanical College of the State of Mississippi opened its doors to students in the fall of 1880

  • Created in 1878 by an act of the Legislature

  • The Alumni Association was founded June 17, 1885, by the first three graduating classes

  • The campus footprint of the 1880s included the original academic building, as well as the first dormitory, a mess hall, hospital, home for the president, and two-story chemical laboratory building, among others

  • Landscaping the early campus moved at a slow pace

Primary Source: "People's University: The Centennial History of Mississippi State"

MSU Class of 1883 MSU Class of 1883 35 Year Reunion Old Main at MSU, 1882-1883

Message from the Campus Planning Committee

Message from the Committee

We want this website to be a resource for you and other campus and community constituencies as the campus planning process moves forward. Please explore the site and send your questions and comments to rbaker@physplant.msstate.edu regarding web site data. Please visit our feedback page for any comments related to the Campus Master Plan.
-- Campus Master Planning and Development Advisory Committee

Committee Only LoginCommittee Member Login

Contact Us

  • Location: Cooley Building, Room 112
  • Mail: P.O. Box 5208
    Mississippi State, MS 39762
  • Campus Mail Stop: 9604
  • Phone: 662.325.9403
  • Fax: 662.325.7571
  • Email: rbaker@physplant.msstate.edu